top of page

Within interfaith contexts, religions are often represented by graphical symbols in an attempt to show the inclusivity of multiple paths of spirituality within a single organization. Below are some of the most common symbols used.

Admittedly, the list below does not represent the thousands of religions which are practiced in the world today. So, the absence of a symbol does not mean that the Compassion Consortium does not honor that tradition. If you have a symbol to add to our list, just contact us.

Baha'i symbol


Nine is the highest single-digit number, and the nine-pointed star symbolizes completenessand fulfillment.

Buddhism symbol


The eight-spoked dharmachakra represents the Noble Eightfold Path of Buddhism.

Christian cross


The use of the cross as a Christian symbol began after the time of Emperor Constantine, three centuries after the life of Jesus. Today it is the most familiar and widely recognized symbol of Christianity.

Confucianism symbol


Confucianism’s main goal is to produce harmony. This is the water symbol, representing calmness and serenity.

Hinduism symbol


AUM (or OM) symbolizes the Universe and the Ultimate Reality. It is the most important of Hindu symbols.

Indigenous Peoples religious symbol

Indigenous Peoples 

This symbolizes the Great Spirit, the principal Deity in several Indigenous American Religions.

Islam symbol


The star and crescent symbol was the emblem of the Ottoman Empire in the 19th century, and gradually became associated with Islam in the late 19th-century.



This symbol represents the cycle of life, non-violence, and the prevention of harm to all living creatures.

Judaism symbol


The symbolic representation of the Star of David in Judaism began in the 17th century. Many religious scholars say that the top triangle of the star represents the upward direction towards HaShem, and the lower triangle symbolizes the world that exists below. Also, the Star of David has all the triangles intertwined, which represents the inseparability and interrelationship of all things.


New Thought Alliance 

This symbol represents the International New Thought Alliance, a loosely allied group of religious denominations who share a common set of beliefs concerning metaphysics, positive thinking, healing, life force and creative visualization.  The New Thought movement includes groups such as Divine Science, Unity Church, Religious Science, Jewish Science and Centers for Spiritual Living.

torii (gate) symbol


The torii (gate) symbol marks the entrance to a sacred space, representing the transition between the finite world and the infinite world of the Gods.



The khanda is the symbol of the Sikh faith, and attained its current form in the early 20th century. It is an amalgam of three symbols: a double-edged sword representing belief in one God, a circle representing God without beginning or end; and two crossed swords, representing spiritual authority and political power.



The Yin-Yang Symbol represents Taoism's way of understanding opposites, e.g., masculine/feminine, light/dark. Yin and Yang, showing the harmony of two opposing forces.



The four bottom points of the pentagram represent the four elements: earth, air, fire, and water. The topmost point on a pentagram represents the Divine.



This symbolizes the supremacy of Olorun/Olodumare, His omnipotence and His immortality.



The Faravahar is an ancient symbol of the Zoroastrian faith. It depicts a bearded man with one hand reaching forward. He stands above a pair of wings that are outstretched from a circle representing eternity.

12-Step Spirituality

12-Step Spirituality

​The symbol of the circle and triangle is an ancient spiritual symbol meaning mind, body, and spirit together as one. In the 12 step program, this symbol represents the three parts of the program (recovery, unity, service).

Interspirituality is not a religion, but a perspective. This term was coined by Wayne Teasdale and describes how all spiritual paths “at their mystical core, are committed to the common values of peace, compassionate service, and love for all creation. An inner life awakened to responsibility and love naturally expresses itself through engaged spirituality, in acts of compassion…contributing to the transformation of the world and the building of a nonviolent, peace-loving culture that includes everyone” (from The Mystic Heart).

bottom of page